RSS Feed

How About That?

Posted on

Hey friends! I’m posting early today because we’re working on a big announcement for tomorrow! I can’t wait to share with you guys the next big step for my little blog that could. How about that?!

I’m flying solo today because Taryn is still on her North American tour and John & Dallas are hiking out to a glacier. Pics of these adventures will be posted later.

Usually, when it is just me and the twinkies I skip church. I’m lazy. However, this morning they were so worked up that I decided church, and the accompanying hour of childcare/fun with other kids would be perfect. It would have helped if I had known there was no childcare today. Frick.

It wasn’t all bad. One of their little friends had his croquet game set up in the lawn. (Did I mention I go to a little hippie church? Yeah, it’s awesome.) We did that for a while. Then I thought I could actually catch some of the service so we went in to the “cry room.” This was clearly the dumbest thing I have ever done. (And I’ve done a lot of dumb things.) Even with the speaker volume turned all the way up (thanks to another parent-I was too stupid to do that) I could not hear one word. I did however get to watch the kids build towers and roads out of blocks and then knock them down. And then get upset over the destruction. Not too smart if you asked me.

I watched Jackson have a near-meltdown when “the baby took Lightening The Queen.”Β Once he got Lightening back he put him in his back pocket. So no dumb baby could steal it. Babies are like that, jerks.

On the way home I decided to be mother of the year and get them McDonald’s for lunch. Don’t judge, if my family can leave me home with the twinkies while they have fun adventures, I at least deserve a vacation from cooking. Also, they were completely starved.

Jackson actually grabbed my face, turned it toward his and said, “I’m STARVING MOMMY. And I’m hot (it’s 63 degrees). I want to go home right now!” Reese spent 10 minutes in the car having a conversation with himself about food. He does that, it’s kind of creepy.

Jackson ate one and a half chicken nuggets. Reese ate seven french fries.

They weren’t starving after all. How about that?

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

3 responses »

  1. Can I just say the childcare-fun part cracked me up. πŸ™‚ I know what I’m going to tell my kids when I have to leave them at that persons house they hate going too. Everyone has one. Mine was my grandparents who didn’t believe in cable, air conditioning, or talking on the phone. I miss those days now. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Ha! Kids rule. We went camping this weekend with two other families, and one has a 3-year-old boy and a 2-year-old boy. Both of them were periodically starving or thirsting to death, only to nibble or sip. Noah was NEVER like that, and for that reason in addition to the periodic random melt-downs I loved every single minute of those flipping adorable boys who kissed me and hugged me and went BACK to their mommy. Topper: She put them in their tent at like 7:30 and the next hour and a half she spent going back and forth to the boys who were either giggling loudly or yelling, “MOMmmmmyyyyyyy!!!” Finally at like 9:15 or so the giggling was out of control and she found them sitting on the ground by the entrance, with a half-bag of opened gummy bears. Teehee…

    Reply
  3. We have a “cry room” at our church and it’s completely pointless. Not so much the other babies but their friggin’ blabbering parents!
    Post-church McD runs makes you an awesome mum in my eyes πŸ™‚
    Can’t wait to hear the exciting news !!!

    Reply

Leave a comment