RSS Feed

Daily Archives: March 17, 2011

Snowy St. Patrick’s Day

Posted on

I used to love St. Patrick’s Day. The whole ‘no gifts just drink beer’ thing is right up my alley. I have vague memories of slugging Guinness and singing Irish songs with other revelers long into the night. Those were good times. Now I am lucky if I can stay up long enough to watch The Daily Show and I only drink red wine because I’ve convinced myself the health benefits outweigh the potential liver damage.

Don’t try to convince me otherwise, I like the world I live in.

For a little while I tried to make it fun at home. I insisted on making corned beef and cabbage every year. It wasn’t so fun for everyone else because, as it turns out, I make terrible corned beef and cabbage. I think that even if it was made well my children would still not eat it. Kids are required to hate cabbage, it’s a rule. We are going to a friend’s house tonight for corned beef and cabbage. They are eating it or I’m never taking them anywhere ever again.

So, the last couple of years St. Patrick’s Day is just like any other day. We all wear green shirts and I get a shamrock shake from McDonald’s. Erin Go that.

To make matters worse I woke up this morning to snow. Frick. I thought winter was over. Here in Alaska when the snow melts they call it ‘break up.’ It takes a while for all the snow and ice to leave us, resulting in a slushy, muddy mess that lasts for weeks. We’ve had that for a week or so, resulting in lots of excitement about spring.

There is nothing more depressing then thinking it is spring and waking up to several inches of snow. It’s still snowing now. Again, frick.

The stupid dog loves it. So irritating.

The twinkies and I had a birthday party to attend. My boys managed to make it a fairly  miserable experience. There was only 1 other boy there, and his mother clearly had better parenting skills than me.

It was a school bus themed party, complete with a homemade school bus cake. The mom even made a school bus with windows and a stop sign out of a refrigerator box. (She’s super-creative. I could never in a million years do that.)

Reese and Jackson immediately set out to destroy it.

There were fun games, the kids played Red Light/Green Light. The glimmer in Jackson’s eye when he found out he could run in the house was scary. He is either very competitive or a potential serial killer. I’ll keep you posted.

They also played a bean bag toss game. Reese was good at that, he’s excellent at throwing things. A couple of months ago he threw a bouncy ball in the house. It hit a glass of water which spilled directly into the back of my laptop. It was a one-in-a-million shot.

I think I prefer the serial killer.