RSS Feed

Things I Love

Posted on

Since you all put up with my grumpy mcshlumpypants yesterday, I figured I should do something a bit more cheerful today. Don’t expect too much, mushy isn’t really my thing.

Also, don’t expect me to go on and on about the children, the husband, or the stupid dog. Obviously I love them. If I didn’t I would have blown this joint a long time ago.

Jimmy Buffett – I love Jimmy Buffett. His music makes me happy, especially now that I live in the tundra. It makes me feel warm even when I haven’t seen the sun in days. I knew I was in love with Dallas when I found out he was an even bigger fan than me. My all time favorite Buffet song is One Particular Harbor Dal’s is Cowboy In The Jungle. However, that song Knee Deep by the Zac Brown Band with Jimmy Buffett brings joy to my soul. I mean that, seriously.

Reese’s fashion Β – You don’t hear much about Reese on this blog. He’s a sweet little kid who is often overshadowed by his wild twin. (He just brought me my water bottle, for no reason at all.) He’s also the first kid to put on a costume, hat, or big shoes. He spends half of his life in mine or Dallas’ shoes. It’s cute. Today I told him to put on a pair of socks and shoes to go to the dog park. While we are walking I took this shot of the ones he chose.

I’ll get you my pretty, and your little dog too!

Kid language – Reese and Jackson refer to Cars as “Lightening The Queen.” They also refer to their Daddy as “Dawas.” Taryn told me the other day that she likes to eat “cosmotolitan” ice cream. They’re so stupid, I love it.

Wine – Obviously.

The Olympics – I’m not really a sports fan. I could go the rest of my life without ever watching another football game and it wouldn’t bother me one bit. But, come Olympics time and I’ll sit in front of the TV all day and all night to watch everything from Gymnastics to the Modern Pentathlon. John inherited my love for the games, we bond over it every two years.

PB & J – I could eat one every day. I think I did when I was pregnant with the twinkies. It’s the perfect food. Creamy peanut butter and any kind of jam. Except grape, don’t be gross.

Now it’s your turn. What do you love so much you should marry it?

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

29 responses »

  1. Babysittes. So, I could read my Kindle. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Oh that is too funny, that is what my 4 year old calls Lighting. lol. I think this is because it sounds that way, AND the other car The King, Isaac put two and two together I guess…:)

    I love dragon flies. They fascinate me. But I don’t think I would marry one. Their eyes would freak me out, and would feel compelled to say “Are you eye ballin’ me son” way to often.
    I love records. Listening to music on vinyl is magical.

    Reply
  3. Brooke Thompson

    I love, LOVE the movie Galaxy Quest. I love any movie that has the word star in it, so Galaxy Quest cracks me up. Every time I sew, I have it on. EVERY TIME and I sew a lot.

    After the kids go to bed, I eat cheese chex-mix, drink hot chocolate and watch re-runs of favorite sitcoms with my hubby. I prop my feet up on his lap and it is just heaven. Love it.

    Reply
  4. Hot Joe. So I did. We were watching a Law & Order earlier today and this older lady was cheating on her husband with a young kid (like 12 I swear) and when her husband confronted her she spewed all this stuff and yelled, “And you smell like an old man!” That was deep for me. I begged Hot Joe right then and there to never smell like an old man. He ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS smells good. After working all day in the hot sun on top of a house? Yup. After three hours under and completely within a car? Then too. Two a.m. when I’m crawling back into bed after one of many pees and I lean into his back just to breathe him in? Heaven. On. Earth.

    P.S. What’s wrong with Reese’s shoes? I don’t get it. ESPECIALLY when you take into account the flipping awesome amazing striped socks that I would like a pair of in a size 8-1/2 please and thank you.

    Reply
  5. Richelle Calin

    I love the interwebs and Lush Bath Bombs! Wine is also very good.

    On a side note … I hope to channel your mothering skills when I care for 5 month old Samuel (last name NOT Adams) this week so the lovely young woman playing Ophelia can open Hamlet. I’m actually pretty good with babies, diapers, baths, feeding, etc. It’s the older child things that leave me exhausted. I don’t know how you do it.

    Reply
  6. Coffee, coffee and coffee. It is my life blood and I would die if it ever left me.
    My ciggies. Its what keeps me “together”.
    The smell of my kids after a bath. lol!

    Reply
  7. I’m so with you on #1. I think the world is a little brighter place because of Jimmy Buffett. Really, who wouldn’t like a guy that sings about a Cheeseburger in Paradise? Classic, classic stuff.

    Reply
  8. Love the kid language. My youngest, when much younger, couldn’t say “sister”. She would pronounce it “Deeter.” Thus, my oldest, to this day, is nicknamed “Deiter” – It’s like livng with a German exchange student. Hubby calls her “Deitz” for short.

    Just wait until they get their little phrases right – then it’s like a small part of you dies when they no longer make that adorable mistake. I have learned this the hard way; I no longer hear “valentimes” or “carnibal” and several other mispronounciations. (is that a word???)

    I heart wine.

    Reply
  9. Salt and Vinegar chips…but you already knew that πŸ™‚
    My iPad would be the next thing.
    What can I say ? I’m just a nerd πŸ™‚

    Reply
  10. My dyson vacuum!!

    Reply
  11. *LOVE Jimmy Buffet – would totally give my left arm to see him in concert!!!
    *Tequila – the only reason I have a 5th child!
    *My DVR – gotta have my TV fix!
    *The IGNORE button on my cell phone …just send them to vocie mail!!

    Reply
  12. I love that my youngest wore a red velvet dress with fuzzy white cuffs to the beach the other day. Because she likes it. And she feels pretty. I love that my girls love makeup. I love that my son secretly wants to have his nails painted like his sisters. I love that my son has better hair than the rest of us and he likes to call his secret power because girls cant resist his golden lockes. I love that my husband and my youngest are so much alike and despise each other and love each other at the same moment. I love that my middle daughter is so thoughtful that she will make apology card even if all she’s done is accidentally stepped on someones toe. I love chocolate chips right out of the bag. By the handful. I love that my kids and husband love chocolate chips by the handful too.

    Reply
  13. I love books. I love paperbacks and e-books. Dear husband is sent to Melbourne for a month, so i am like in heaven, I can read all through the night, but I have an almost 4-year-old and and an almost 2-year-old, so it’s a struggle. But I read whenever I can. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  14. What a cute list. Love the socks.

    I love wine and martinis. And sweet unprompted hugs from my children.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

