RSS Feed

Guilt

Posted on

It happened. I’ve become one of those people who actually cares about the stupid dog. I do. I care. I can’t believe that we let her get sick. The results of her urinalysis came back today with too many bacteria to count and painful crystals.

I suck at life.

I knew she was sick. I knew she was peeing every thirty seconds. I knew that she was putting off a scent at the dog park. The male dogs were all over her.

I tried to convince myself it was because she is such a pretty girl.

I mean really, who wouldn’t love that face?

Maybe it was the aggressive beavers. She’s not much of a swimmer, but she’ll get into the lake at the dog park for a drink. Those beavers are nasty, disgusting animals. I bet the lake is diseased.

Either that or I’m the worst dog parent ever.

Not possible. Not the worst. I’ve seen Animal Cops.

I’m becoming one of those stupid people who will spend piles of money on the stupid dog. I’m already jammed up that the vet only gave me a week’s worth of pain meds for her. I have to call first thing in the morning.

She’s going to gain 10 pounds because I’m comforting her with food. It works for me, so I figure it will comfort her too.

I’ve lost my mind.

Stupid dog.

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

14 responses »

  1. Awwweeee – look at those eyes. Poor baby.
    Hope she gets well!!

    Reply
  2. I’m sure with you taking care of her, you dog will get better soon.

    Reply
  3. Beautiful dog you have. But don’t beat yourself up ! You weren’t to know.
    She’ll be fine. Just keep loving her and feeding her. ‘Cause I reckon her love for you hasn’t changed an iota 🙂

    Reply
  4. I totally feel guilty when my dog is sick. Over the winter, my dog ate 3 socks without us knowing (seriously!?!?!?) and he threw two of them up during the middle of a blizzard. Um yeah. Try taking your dog to the vet when there is 2 feet of snow on the ground. They gave him medicine to try to make him throw up the other one, so he looked like a lifeless lump for 24 hours. I coddled him, let him sleep on the couch, and hand fed him. i’m a nut case.

    Reply
  5. I once went to the ER in the middle of the night because my pee looked the cranberry juice. They gave me medicine and I am fine. I’m not a stupid dog, but my story should comfort you. Sometimes these things just happen.

    Reply
  6. I’m not a dog person. At all. But I would so give your dog a big hug right now.
    Oh, by the way, you’ve got loads of kids the poor dog was bound to get lost in the shuffle!

    Reply
  7. I wish her a quick recovery! Poor thing. She is gorgeous. And don’t be so hard on yourself. It is hard enough taking care of the human kids let alone the fuzzy kids. ( I know, we have two dogs, a hamster a fish, and a tree frog. )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

