RSS Feed

Tasty Tuesday

Posted on

We’re heading down to Texas for a classic that happens to be my husband’s favorite dish. Full disclosure: he prefers the one they make at Luby’s to mine. Yes, I married a man who likes cheap cafeteria food. He also prefers deli cookies to homemade. He would have been a fat loser without me.

Anyway.

Tonight I made King Ranch Chicken. It’s a cheesy, spicy casserole type thing. It’s great for potlucks or to feed a crowd (like I do every night).

King Ranch Chicken

Ingredients

1-2 Pounds Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts, cooked and cut into bite size pieces.

10 Oz. Package Corn Tortillas, cut in quarters

1 Large Onion, chopped

1 Large Green Pepper, chopped

2 Cups Cheddar Cheese, shredded

1 1/2 Tsp. Chili Powder

1/2 Tsp. Garlic Salt

1 (10 Oz.) Can Cream of Chicken Soup

1 (10 Oz.) Can Cream of Mushroom Soup

1 (10 Oz.) Can Rotel (undrained)

I cooked the chicken in some chicken stock and water. Just place the breasts in a skillet with the lid on and boil until one. You’ll want to reserve the cooking liquid. If you cook them another way or buy the already cooked stuff, you’ll need a can of chicken broth for the next step.

My original recipe called for a whole chicken cooked and cut up. As if.

Bring the cooking liquid or your can of broth to a boil and then remove from the heat. Dip the cut up tortillas int he liquid for a few seconds to soften, then set aside.

Don’t let them sit in the liquid too long or they will get mushy.

Place half of the tortillas in a lightly greased 13x9x2 baking dish. On top of that place half of the onions, peppers, and chicken. Repeat with another layer.

It does not look especially appealing. The peppers will be slightly crunchy when the dish is finished. If you’re not a fan of crunchy peppers you may want to sauté them for a few minutes first.

Next, sprinkle the shredded cheese, chili powder, and garlic salt on top.

Combine the soups and spread them on top of the cheese. Pour the entire can of Rotel (do not drain) on top of the cheese.

If it looks like a wet, gloppy mess you got it right. It’s not pretty. Don’t worry about it. This isn’t fine dining, no one cares about your presentation.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes or until it is cooked through and bubbly.

My friend, Jennifer, told me that she makes this with Doritos instead of tortilla chips. Sounds awesome. Maybe that’s the Luby’s secret? Hmmmm….

I didn’t make anything with this, I probably should have. Maybe black beans or a salad. I was tired today, so this is all they got.

John likes it, Taryn hates it. It’s pretty much the story of my life.

 

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

2 responses »

  1. notsowickedstepmom

    I made this last night, and my family LOVED it! I even tried it with the Doritos, since we had some in the house and at first they were a little weirded out, but it was really good! My husbands only suggestion was to add bacon. But then again, he says that for just about everything.
    Thanks for the recipe! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

