RSS Feed

Tasty Tuesday

Posted on

Fact: Fried food is awesome.

Fact: The key to frying food well is a three-step breading process.

Fact: Tonight you are going to learn the secret to frying pork chops.

The first few times I suggested making pork chops Dallas balked. He said he didn’t like them, so I didn’t make them. They weren’t one of my favorites either so it was not a big deal. Then I watched something on TV about frying food (I think it was Bobby Flay, but maybe not. I don’t usually watch him because his voice is irritating.) and decided to try it. It was, and continues to be a family favorite.

Pork Chops & Stuffing

Pork Chops

5 Boneless Pork Chops, 1 inch thick

3 Eggs, beaten

1 1/2 Cups Seasoned Breadcrumbs

3/4 Cup Grated Parmesan Cheese

1 Cup Flour

Salt & Pepper

Canola Oil

Stuffing

2 Boxes Stove Top Stuffing, cooked according to package directions

4 Celery Stalks, chopped

1 Onion, chopped

8 Oz. Mushrooms Sliced

2 Tbs. Butter

Salt & Pepper

The first, and maybe most important step to proper frying is to bring the meat up to room temperature. This is a good rule of thumb for most meats. If you try to cook them when they are cold they will tighten up and get dry. You also one them to cook relatively quickly and to splatter as little as possible.

Dry pork chops are gross.

You’ll need to set up a breading station with a bowl for the flour, the eggs, and the breadcrumbs mixed with the parmesan cheese. Season each step with salt and pepper. I used table salt instead of kosher salt for breading. You’ll also need a plate for the finished product

Place the pork chop in the flour mixture first. Shake off any excess.

Next put it in the egg mixture.

Last dredge it in the breadcrumb mixture. Set it aside and repeat the process with each piece.

Place enough oil in your skillet to just cover the top of the pork chop. It can be difficult to judge when the oil is the right temperature. Too cool and the breading will be saturated and fall off. Too hot and it will burn before the meat is cooked. I use the high-tech method of sprinkling water into the oil until it has a decent sizzle, but does not splatter and pop in a scary way. You could use a thermometer. I have no idea what temperature you should use, those setting rubbed off of my electric skillet.

It should look like this.

Cook them until they are a golden brown on each side. The chop should spring back slightly when you press on it. You don’t want to cut into it to see if it is done because all the juice will escape and if you have to put it back in it will get oily. Again, you could use a meat thermometer. I have one, it’s never been out of the box.

They’re done when they look like this.

They should rest for about five minutes before serving. This fun contraption is my cookie cooling rack, on top of a baking sheet, lined with a paper towel. Fancy shmancy.

Stuffing goes great with pork chops. I’m not into the applesauce thing. You could do that if you wanted. Just not at my house.

I do not like homemade stuffing. It tasted like wet bread, blech. I like Stove Top, sage flavor. My Aunt Sylvia taught me to doctor it up with onions, mushrooms, and celery. It’s a pretty simple process that adds loads of flavor.

First chop up the vegetables and season them with salt and pepper. Let them sit together in a bowl for a while if you have time. Saute them with the butter until the onions and celery are soft.

While that is going make up the stuffing. Tonight I used chicken broth in place of some of the water, only because I had it. I don’t think it tasted any different from just using water.

Once everything is cooked mix the stuffing and the vegetables together and place them in a baking dish. Heat them in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes. You can also skip the baking step. I’ve done it, so far no one has choked out at the dinner table.

It’s awesome. You could make some brown gravy and have just this as a meal. Seriously. Taryn hates it, but she’s a teenager she doesn’t know anything.

I heated up the green beans with lime juice and Adobo.

There you go. Fry your little hearts out!

 

 

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

9 responses »

  1. OOO this looks seriously tasty….gonna have to try it!

    Reply
  2. YUMMY!!! and I have to agree with you, Bobby Flay’s voice…ugh. He always sounds like he needs to blow his nose.

    Reply
  3. It works well to use pancake batter instead of flour too. sounds weird but its delicious!

    Reply
  4. That look AMAZING! Seriously, who would not like that? Well your daughter obviously, but oh goodness that looks yummy!

    Reply
  5. This looks delicious! I’m a college kid, so I always need new ideas for food! I love reading your blog 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

