RSS Feed

Words With Kids

Posted on

The kids are my main source of entertainment. I know that sounds lame, but for real, you can’t make up some of the stuff they say.

Case in point:

Yesterday we took the stupid dog to the dog park. On the way out another dog tried to get in our car. Not a big deal. The owner and I chatted about dogs while the twinkies got in their car seats. (Big milestone: They can snap themselves into the seats all by themselves. This makes my life about 25% more bearable.) When I got in the car Jackson and I had the following conversation.

“Mommy where does she live?”

“I don’t know.”

“Why not?”

“I don’t know her, I just talked to her for a minute.”

“Well, we can follow her and then we will know where she lives.”

*I’ll let you know if he exhibits any other weird, stalker behaviors.

The twins have been on an Alaska train adventure with their grandparents. The twinkies miss them a lot. (I do too, but they hate it when I say that out loud) This afternoon I had this conversation with both Reese and Jackson.

“Mommy when will Sissy and John be home?”

“They come back tonight.”

“How many more sleeps?”

“None.”

“One?”

“No, none.”

“Nine?”

“No, none.”

“TEN? Jackson! Ten more sleeps until Sissy and John come home!”

“No, not ten, none. NONE. No more sleeps”

“Eleven?”

That’s when I decided to just have beer for dinner.

Later in the evening after the twins and the grandparents were home we chatted about their trip. To say that my Dad is frugal about certain things is a gross understatement. When I was a kid we got charged for waste if we left food on our plate or left a light on.

I’m not making that up.

Anyway, I asked Taryn if she had spent all of her babysitting money on the trip. This is the conversation that followed.

“No, Mom (rolling eyes) I still have plenty left. I can tell you exactly what I bought.”

“Oh, yeah Bridget she bought these really fancy candies with gold wrappers, I couldn’t believe it!”

“They were chocolate coins and they were fifty cents Grandpa.”

I love that kid.

 

 

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

10 responses »

  1. Ahh the selective hearing of a 4 year old… and their odd sociopath behavior. Love your posts.

    Reply
  2. So maybe they’re trying to tell you that you don’t have enough adult-playdates… they were trying to get you to be an agressive friend-seeker 🙂

    Reply
  3. Beer for dinner. I like it. My 12-year-old Noah says funny things on a DAILY BASIS. Example: I’m driving in the car and some guy cuts me off to which I say, “What are you DOING?” Noah, from the back seat, responded, “You know, just chillin’, listen’ to music.” My Facebook status is updated constantly with Noahisms. Here’s another one from my nephew Austin, who is 7 and ‘special’ and in trouble a lot at school. They do the card flipping system where if he flips his card from green to red he’s in trouble. He was reading over my sister’s shoulder while she was looking at email and he read, “Mark as unread” out loud. Mark is his cousin’s boyfriend, 22, currently in Argentina for school and a perfect angel all his life. Austin was horrified. “Mommy! Why is Mark on red?!?!” I still laugh every day and that happened on Monday.

    I love that I just blog in your comment boxes.

    Carry on.

    Reply
  4. I don’t know what made me laugh more this: “This makes my life about 25% more bearable” or the stalker behavior! Kids are awesome, they make life so much more fun, don’t they?!

    Reply
  5. So, tell me more about this charging for dinnertime waste behavior your father engaged in….I see a new strategy for forcing- I mean *encouraging* my children to eat their dinner! ;). And I am counting the days until I no longer have to buckle Gus into his car seat. Seriously. Who knew that kind of crap would turn out to be such a drag?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

