RSS Feed

Tasty Tuesday

Posted on

I guess I am on a pasta kick, last week we had baked ziti. Tonight it’s penne pasta with sun dried tomatoes, roasted red peppers, chicken, and alfredo sauce. That’s a long title, but it’s not a difficult meal. The hardest part is roasting the peppers. Don’t stress, I’ll walk you through it.

Chicken Penne Alfredo

Ingredients

2-3 Red Peppers, roasted and chopped (yellow or orange peppers work fine too)

1 Jar Sun Dried Tomatoes, drained and julienned

2 Chicken Breasts, cooked and chopped

2 Jars Alfredo Sauce

1 Box Penne Pasta, cooked according to package directions.

The first step is to cook the chicken. I like to season it with salt, pepper, oregano, parsley, garlic powder, and basil. Heat a few tablespoons of olive oil in a pan and place the chicken in it. Cook until the chicken is heated through and set aside to rest.

Roasting red peppers is fairly simple. Spray them with a little olive oil and either grill them or broil them. I usually broil them.

You will want to turn them often so they get cooked on all sides as well as on the top and the bottom.

Scary.

The next step is important. Immediately after you take them out of the oven put them into an air tight container. The steam helps the skin pop off so that you can peel it later.

Try to wait about 20 minutes to peel them, otherwise your little fingertips will get burned. However, if you are like me you probably don’t have much time to spare, so keep a damp cloth hand to cool off your fingers.

First, pull off the stem. Do it over a bowl (or like I do, over the container they were in to cool) and tip it over. The juice and seeds should drain out easily. Cut it in half so you can lay it flat. Then peel off the skin, you can use the edge of a knife for the stubborn bits.

They should look like this. I cut them into 2 inch strips. You could sew them together and make a dress. Just make sure people know it is made from peppers and not people.

Roasted red peppers are also sold in the jar. They are not completely gross, but these are better.

That being said, I use alfredo sauce from a jar. I always plan to make it from scratch and buy the jar sauce just in case my homemade batch breaks. You can probably guess how that turns out. Honestly, if you get the jar stuff boiling hot and add lots of pepper you can hardly tell.

Once everything is cooked and chopped combine the pasta, chicken, peppers, and tomatoes. Then add the sauce. If you add the sauce first the pasta soaks it up and the dish winds up dry.

If time allows I heat the whole thing up for a few minutes. If not my family eats it coldish. They always survive.

Dinner is served, friends.

How about a recipe idea/challenge for next week?

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

11 responses »

  1. Richelle Calin

    YUMMY!

    Reply
  2. Looks delish ! Will have to try it.

    Reply
  3. Hi!

    I’m such a novice at cooking. So, thanks for the tip on cooking the chicken. I always find recipe that calls for cooked chicken but they never specify HOW to cook it. I’ve tried steaming it (too bland) and baking it for 10mins in the oven after marinating for a week in the fridge (I think the chicken went bad from the chilling, defrosting and chilling and defrosting but I ate them anyway, my tot totally refused it though).

    So, you actually cook it whole and chop it later?

    Reply
  4. Im drooling in front of my PC screen! haha!
    Lovelyy dish. Am definately giving it a try!
    Thanks

    Reply
  5. Jo-Anne Clough

    Needed a meal for tonite…now I have it:) How about a meal with fish? Possibly Salmon or traditional Alaskan??

    Reply
  6. I’m so jealous of people who love roasted peppers. They sound so good in theory but I just don’t like them. I like my peppers deliciously raw which everyone thinks is insane.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

