RSS Feed

Movie Fetish

Posted on

High quality films were on my mind today. This morning I read an article from Time Magazine titled, Top 10 Reasons Why Top Gun Is Still Awesome. I love that movie. It never, ever gets old. Then, on Twitter Lady Estrogen was trending and blogging about one of my all time favorite movies in her post Everything I Need To Know I Learned From Heathers. It’s a great read, which I immediately posted to Facebook where it also got lots of love and infamous quotes.

All that talk got me thinking about the movies that I refuse to turn off whenever they are on TV. Sadly, Heathers is way too cutting edge, even now, so it is never on TV. But, there are lots of others that can and often do stop this household in its tracks. Let me tell you, it’s not The Piano or Schindler’s List either.

We’re too hoity toity for those kinds of movies. Instead, we will stop whatever we are doing and plop on the couch to watch a butchered for TV version of these classic films.

Revenge Of The Nerds – Any movie with a main character named Booger is a go in our house. Nerd persecution must end.

A Few Good Men – This is classic Tom Cruise, before he went crazy. “YOU CAN’T HANDLE THE TRUTH!”

Tin Cup – This is Dallas’ all time favorite movie. I think he wants to be Roy McAvoy when he grows up.

Star Wars – Duh.

Ferris Bueller’s Day Off – The name of this blog is totally a take off of the “ism” speech in this classic. “A person should not believe in an ism. He should believe in himself.”

Parenthood – This movie was funny when I was a kid. Now that I have kids, it’s hilarious.

Tombstone/Wyatt Earp – These films are interchangeable. Either way, I’m your huckleberry.

The Breakfast Club – “Does Barry Manilow know you raid his wardrobe?”

Roadhouse – This is another Dallas pick. I think the first time he watched it with the twins they were 9, he said, “It’s on TNT all the bad stuff is cut out.” In my opinion, cutting out all the bad stuff would leave you with a 20 second movie.

Point Break – In high school my friend Beth’s parents owned a video store. For Christmas she gave me this movie poster framed. Still one of the best gifts I have ever received. “100% pure adrenaline. Some guys snort for it, some guys jab their veins for it, all you’ve gotta do is jump.”

War Games – Dabney Coleman. That is all.

Steel Magnolias – It’s not only me, Dallas too. He just doesn’t cry like an 8-year-old girl at the end. See, I do have a heart, try not to fall off your chair in shock.

Sixteen Candles –“Jake, Jake!!” When I was in high school there was a hot history teacher that we thought looked like Jake. I’m pretty sure we used to mime this scene on the window of his classroom door. While he was inside. I don’t know how I graduated.

Die Hard – Any incarnation. Dallas loves these movies. So does my Dad. You know that saying, marry one parent become the other? Scary.

Erin Brokovich – We never turn this off just so we can see the last 3 minutes. “Do they teach beauty queens how to apologize? Because you suck at it.”

What movie stops you in your tracks?

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

29 responses »

  1. I love most of these movies, a couple I had no idea what they were probably because my parents don’t like them; like all the die hards we don’t watch. We always watch Pretty Woman, Practical Magic, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, The Breakfast Club, there many more but I just can’t think.

    Reply
  2. If anything by Pixar is on the telly, that’s a good chunk of my day gone. Also Notting Hill, Bend It Like Beckham or Coyote Ugly – iconic films from my tweendom!

    Reply
  3. An absolultely great list, for the reasons mentioned. (I would disagree w/ Roadhouse though) I would add Pretty Woman on that list. Something magical about a modern day Cinderalla story.

    Reply
  4. Definitely Pretty Woman. “Who does it happen to, who do we know that it happens to?… Cinda-f@*kin’-Rella.” Best line evah.

    Reply
  5. I’d probably add Ever After… mostly because of the scene where she attempts to carry him out of the gypsy camp. Definitely Ferris Bueller… You’ve got mail (i see it regularly on sale, but then i think, “no, i watch this when it’s on”), Oh, and Candleshoe. does anyone else remember this movie? Jodie Foster, David Niven, Hellen Hayes… great Disney adventure 🙂

    Reply
  6. I quote John Lennon, I don’t believe in Beatles, I just believe in me. LOL

    That is also the BEST scene in Steel Magnolias – I found a lot of the movie annoyed me a little, but that one scene made me ball… and then laugh. The best kind is when it can make you do both almost at the same time – and that one did it.

    Reply
  7. Hello Beaches-you were a train wreck,

    Reply
  8. LOVE your list. A lot. Sixteen Candles, Steel Magnolias, Ferris Bueller, Parenthood – so so (so) good.

    (p.s. I realized that I didn’t need to RE-list everything you’d just listed above or I would have kept going.)

    I’d add Shawshank Redemption. I will stop and watch for a bit EVERY time I see that movie on TV. Just to hear Morgan Freeman’s voice.

    Magic.

    Reply
  9. Meredith Sanantonio

    So glad you added Steel Magnolias to that list – all time favorite (and Sixteen Candles is right up there)! I will also always watch Crimson Tide, Good Will Hunting and Remember the Titans. Oh and another chick flick, The Cutting Edge.

    Reply
    • Oh yeah, Crimson Tide & The Hunt For Red October are also big ones here!! I just explained the “do you like apples?” bit from Good Will Hunting to the twins the other day…we’ll have to watch that one again!

      Reply
  10. I think I love you. We watched “Roadhouse” on Sunday and “Tin Cup” a few weeks ago and “Die Hard” last week. My husband will NOT miss any of the “Fast and Furious” movies (I know they are new but they play them a lot.) There are so many that play over and over and we watch over and over that I’m excited as I type this and can’t remember an F-ing one.

    Reply
  11. Back to the Future reigns high in our house. Stand by Me and Karate Kid are also classics. I got real excited and showed the kids Ghostbuster – because it was PG – and found out too late that PG back then is not PG now. Its totally inappropriate for little kids.

    Reply
    • All of those, yes every one! Stand By Me is an all time favorite, “I was 12 going on 13 the first time I saw a dead body. That’s a long time ago. But only if you measure in terms of years.”

      Reply
  12. Oh man, you nailed so many of my favs!! You Can’t Handle The Truth!! Is probably quoted in my home at least once a week.

    And Ferris Bueller? We have to watch that once every six months at least….a classic in our house.

    And so many others on your list….are we related?

    Reply
    • I have a friend who is former Army and claims that he used to run up to Marines and yell that at them. Probably untrue, but still an entertaining mental image:)

      Reply
  13. V for Vendetta and You’ve Got Mail.

    My siblings and I can watch You’ve Got Mail regularly, and when we’re not watching it we’ll just quote the whole thing.

    I love your blog! Kudos to Freshly Pressed.

    Reply
  14. onthespotphotography

    Do you remember Cugo! OMG! That was high stress like no other…. every single Grease Movie but Grease 2… “I need a cooooool rider..” ooooh he was such a cutie ….and I forever love Pretty Woman…. 🙂

    Reply
  15. The Goonies will be watched at our house EVERY time it is on!! The rest of your list is right on!

    ‘You have the signature of a serial killer’

    Reply

Leave a Reply

