RSS Feed

Freaky Friday

Posted on

This Friday was going to be a busy day and I was ready for it. One of the many hats I wear is being a co-chairperson for the parents’ group that supports our child care centers. There are eight centers on our installation and today was Caregiver Appreciation Day. The parents’ group provided sub sandwiches for lunch while the parents provided desserts, drinks and paper products.

My job was to order all the sandwich platters and deliver them to the centers. I had hoped to have some help with this task, but had none. It was my fault, I made the flyers and neglected to ask for help. I can’t complain, I made my bed so I had to lie in it.

This morning I was also scheduled to go running with my friend Kay. I was not giving that up.

The plan was to get up at 6:30, get showered and put on my running clothes. Usually I don’t shower before I run, because I’m lazy. But, I didn’t want to deliver food all stinky.

At 6:27 Dallas came in the bedroom and said, “Babe, I need you to drive me to work, my bike has a flat tire.”

He recently started riding his bike to work. By recently, I mean he did it once.

He left his truck there so he could drive it during the day. Also, if it gets late or he does not feel like riding home he can just throw the bike in the back.

That killed my first half hour, which is also the only 30 kid-free minutes of my day.

I was determined. I threw some food down for the twinks, got my shower, and put on my running clothes. I loaded water in the van to rehydrate after my run. Then, I dashed them off to school and got home in time to run with Kay. We did a few miles at faster than my normal pace. I was red and sweaty but I felt great.

After that the clock was ticking. It was 9:30 and I had two hours to get the food, deliver it, and make it to pick up the twinkies at pre-school on time.

First stop, the commissary to pick up my 18 sandwich trays. One of the centers sent an employee to pick up their subs. I checked out, and waited for her. She was kind enough to help me get all those platters into the van.

I made two drop offs, thanking the caregivers as I went. I was on a roll. At the third and largest center I noticed there were not enough sandwich trays to cover all the remaining centers. I checked my list and realized that I had counted 18 platters and only ordered 15.

Frick.

The deli at the commissary said they could make them up for me. I headed back there.

The childcare centers could not be any further from the commissary or from each other. There was no way I was going to make it.

I had to call the last center on that side of the base and have them send someone to the commissary to pick up their platters. Terribly embarrassing.

I met her there, paid the tab, and shuffled off.

Two more centers got their food, thank you’s all around. I made it to ours with 10 minutes to spare.

I set up the platters and added my cookies to the table. I had time to chat with some of the other mom’s and dad’s. It was all very pleasant.

I even had time to take a potty break before picking up the twinkies.

It was then that I realized … I had my pants on backward.

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

7 responses »

  1. Stay classy, B.

    Reply
  2. that’s hysterical. I’ve been reading your blog for about 6 weeks now and it’s great. I only have 2 kids and can barely function sometimes…you do an awesome job! Thanks for the laughs!

    Reply
  3. Ha! You rule. It’s like talking to a group of people with chocolate on your cheek but nobody tells you.

    Reply
  4. You were creating a fabulous new fashion statement! I’m simply impressed that you ran. And volunteered. Two things I really should attempt to do more of.

    Reply
  5. That is hilarious. Never a dull moment! I found your blog a few days ago when you were on WP’s homepage. I find your stories fascinating because I’ve always had a “feeling” I’m going to have twins someday. We’ll see if I’m right!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

