RSS Feed

The Silent Treatment

Posted on

Before I get into this post I want to give a shout out to everyone who visited my blog yesterday. Being on Freshly Pressed is kind of awesome. Lots of you commented and subscribed, which is also awesome. I am going to visit your blogs too and attempt to reply to everyone. I’m overwhelmed so give me a day or two. Thank you…yes, you!

Anywho.

For about 24 hours now my eldest son, John, has given me the silent treatment. I have no idea where he learned this counter-productive and immature behavior. Not from me, I assure you. I’m a talker. A yeller. A stay up all night and cry and fight until it is figured out kind of person.

It’s a really delightful personality trait.

Yesterday, my son got into trouble at school not once, but twice. As a parent I am actually ok with an occasional slip up. He’s 14, not capable of making the right decision all the time. I totally get that. But there still has to be a punishment, even if you know they are being normal.

Also, normal for a teenager is completely stupid and devoid of any reason or consequences.

He came home and told me about one of the incidents, a little scuffle with another puberty-stricken teenage boy. They got sent to the principal for it. He neglected to mention that he also got into trouble for chattering in math class. Luckily, the teacher had already emailed me.

I talked to him about the problems. I felt like he understood that he needed to make better choices and take responsibility for his actions.

Ten minutes later he asked if he could meet his buddy at the soccer field. I said no.

He looked at me like a had a wiener on my forehead.

“Ummm…. you got into a fight at school and got kicked out of math class today! So, no. No, you cannot go hang out with your friend at the soccer field.”

He said, “But, soccer is going to help me!”

I said, “Yeah, so is math. So is learning to control yourself so you don’t get sent to the principals’ office.”

Apparently that was a completely foreign concept to him.

He sulked most of the evening.

Finally, I asked him if he was just not going to talk to me anymore.

He said, “Yeah.”

Fine. Two can play at that game.

This morning I figured it would be over. He never follows through on anything else, why would this be any different?

Silence again.

So again I asked (not very nicely), “Are you just not going to talk to me?”

“Yep.”

It is now 10:00 PM and he has barely said three words to me.

It was my night to drive the soccer car pool.

Not one word.

He even rode in the backseat.

If this is what I have to look forward to for the next 4 years, I’m going to need a new liver.

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

16 responses »

  1. sending a bottle ur way.. just breath deep!

    Reply
  2. Oh my god, your blog is hilarious. Been drinking my morning coffee right now and almost splattered it all over my computer because of laughing. Ahhhh – the silent treatment. Only lasts a few days. My little brother tries that all the time.

    Reply
  3. We are just starting into the teenage years (our oldest will be 14 in June). I was hoping that my husbands 10+ years as a youth pastor would help in dealing with those difficult teenage years, but I’m not sure. It’s different when they are YOUR kids and they live with you ~ I may need Prozac by the time the twins are teenagers (if not before !) 🙂

    Reply
  4. I have found that pubescent/teenage boys are more hormonal than any case of PMS I have seen. Just beginning this stage ourselves, it looks like it is going to be an interesting ride. Great post!

    Reply
  5. I’m conflicted. My 11-year-old INSISTS on having the last word, even if it’s barely uttered under his breath hidden under his pillow on his bed behind closed doors with me downstairs in the kitchen banging pots and pans. As a mom, my super-powers allow me to hear this last word and it frustrates me to no end. I’m the adult. I WANT THE LAST WORD DAMMIT. So now you’ve got me wondering – do I want to compete for that ever-coveted last word or would I rather he just walk around the house, his silence louder than any last word ever uttered? I do not know.

    Reply
  6. I somewhat understand your pain. I don’t have kids or anything, but I’m the same personality type as you. I have to have things resolved then and there, as soon as possible. I hate leaving issues hanging in the air. So I understand how incredibly annoying a silent treatment can be, when you would rather sit and talk things about. I hope he pipes up at some point today, for your sake and his. Good luck!

    Reply
  7. Hello, You don’t know me yet but I am 14, just like your son. I find this so funny because I remember being like 9(or something like that)and my sister doing this same stuff with my parents; luckily my parents don’t usually have to deal with that stuff with me because I like peace and talking it out calmly, or if I really am mad I give them the silent treatment but I can only keep it up for like ten minutes because someone makes me talk when I least expect it and I’ve already messed that up so why keep going on with it. Anyways, from what I remember with my sister(shes really strong-willed) it only lasts a few of days, my mom would be so nice to her she had to talk to my mom. Good luck!

    P.s. love your blog, just subscribed and read like a million posts because they are so funny 🙂

    Reply
  8. Betty Huizar

    The best solution is just to pretend you don’t even
    notice it, and enjoy the silence… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

