RSS Feed

Tasty Tuesday

Posted on

I bet a lot of you don’t think you can make your own spaghetti sauce. You can, trust me. I never thought I would be able to do it either. I heard people talk about making tomato sauce, but always assumed they had real culinary skills.

I do not have real culinary skills.

I do not know how to make a uniform dice, I barely know how to dice at all. I’ve never cooked lamb. I tried to make bread once and it turned into a rock.

I’m an excellent eater. And I love food TV. So, I cook. Let me tell you, homemade sauce is about a thousand times better than anything you can buy in the jar. I make this sauce often, but only for spaghetti. If I were really ambitious I would make big vats and freeze them, or try to make marinara for lasagna and other Italian dishes.

For now I just use it when I make spaghetti. It’s loaded with vegetables so it makes a fabulous meatless-meal option. My mother-in-law developed the recipe after something she ate in a restaurant. I’ve tweaked it a bit too.

Vegetable Spaghetti Sauce

Ingredients

1 Tbs. Olive Oil

1 Onion, chopped

2 Cloves Garlic, chopped

1 Green Pepper, chopped

1 Red Pepper, chopped (I used 2 this time because they were small)

8 Oz. Mushrooms, sliced

1/4 Cup Green Olives, sliced

1 Small Can Black Olives, sliced and drained

1 28 Oz. Can Diced Tomatoes, undrained

1 12 Oz. Can Tomato Paste

1/4 cup water

4 Tsp. Dried Parsley (1/4 cup fresh)

1 Tsp. Sugar

1 Tsp. Salt

1 Tsp. Dried Basil (2 Tsp. fresh)

1 Tsp. Dried Oregano (2 Tsp. fresh)

1/2 Tsp. Black Pepper

Don’t freak out if you don’t like olives. You can hardly taste them, try it once with them. If you still don’t like it you can leave them out and it won’t matter.

Heat the oil slightly in a pot. Add the onions, peppers, garlic and season to taste. Once the onion is tender add the rest of the ingredients.

It looks kind of gross. Don’t worry about it. Stir it up, it will look more appetizing.

Maybe not. It’ll be fine. Heat to boiling, reduce heat. Simmer for 30-45 minutes.

I like to serve this with a salad and bread. The Paul Newman line of salad dressings is fabulous. I think they give the profits to charity or something. I don’t know, it tastes good that’s all that really matters.

You’ll also need to cook some spaghetti noodles. We try to eat whole wheat pasta whenever we can. It’s your call dude.

Delicious. Healthy. Easy, really. It looks like a lot, but once you chop the vegetables it is done.

While this looks like a fabulous meal, I have to confess that it is not what we had for dinner tonight. Today, at 2:30 PM I left for a track meet. Dallas is in the field, so I’m doing the solo parent thing for a couple of nights. We did not leave the track meet until 5:30.

Seriously, three hours and she was only in one event! ONE. I was so hungry I almost passed out. I ate goldfish from the floor of the minivan. Gross but true.

When we got in the car Taryn told me she volunteered to bring donuts to school tomorrow. Frick on a stick. That meant I had to stop, after driving a half hour back home from the meet, at the store to get stupid donuts.

Did I mention I was starving? The twinkies were with me, also starving. It was 6:30PM, so I made a judgement call.

This was our dinner. But seriously, the spaghetti sauce is delicious. For real.

Arby’s is delicious too.

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

6 responses »

  1. That does look awesome! And I’m no cook – but I think I can do this. Hmmm… Also, I concur, Newman’s Own ROCKS!
    PS – I’m impressed you got donuts without housing them on the way home. That’s what I would’ve done.

    Reply
  2. Sounds like my oldest, Drew, who said one morning at 7:15 am “Oh Mom, I forgot .. I’m supposed to bring cupcakes to school today for my half-birthday” (apprently kids who have summer birthday’s celebrate with their class on their “1/2 birthday”) When asked how long he had known about this he replied, “Well, since last week, but I kept forgetting to tell you” So I had to make a run to the grocery store and to the school to drop off the cupcakes before work. πŸ™‚
    I have enjoyed reading your blog ..I have 4 kids too but only one set of twins. It’s fun to watch the twins play and interact … they definately have a lanugage of their own.
    P.S. I also despise Legos and have them all over the house since I have 3 boys !

    Reply
  3. I’m hungrier AFTER I eat spaghetti than before! But this looks great, though.

    Reply
  4. One Cocktail Away

    You nailed it! That’s what happens to us, too πŸ™‚ I enjoyed this post – thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

