RSS Feed

Tasty Tuesday

Posted on

Tonight I made one of our family favorites I call it Top Chef Stir Fry. Do you watch Top Chef? I love it, it’s easily one of my favorite shows on Bravo. I love Bravo, so that’s really saying something. I don’t think I could compete on the show though, I’m no good under pressure. Also, Tom Colicchio is cute, so I wouldn’t be able to concentrate.

Everyone here loves this dish, except John. John is not a fan at all. I made his favorite meal last night. We are usually in a stir fry/shepard’s pie rotation so neither of the big twins can complain. Whatever.

It’s one of my healthier dishes. I was recently accused of cooking less-than-healthy meals. Eat this.

A friend of mine was over visiting while I cooked. That’s my excuse for not taking my normal picture of the ingredients. It’s all her fault. Well, that and the boxed wine we were drinking.

Top Chef Stir Fry

Adapted from Antonia Lofaso’s Top Chef recipe

Ingredients

1 head of bok choy, chopped

1 large red pepper, halved and sliced

1 onion, sliced

2 chicken breasts, sliced thin

1 cup of cooked edamame, cooked

1/2 bag of whole wheat noodles

Teriyaki sauce

Salt & Pepper

Slice and season the chicken. You’ll want it very thin, so it cooks easily.

Combine the bok choy, red peppers, and onion. Season to taste.

Place the chicken in a wok or large skillet add the vegetables on top.

Finally, an in process picture that does not look like vomit! You’re welcome.

Cook on medium/high heat until the chicken is cooked through. You may cook it on low heat if you forget to start the noodles. Of course, only someone who is busy gabbing and drinking wine would do that.

These are the noodles I used tonight. Sometimes I use another brand, I can’t remember what it is called. I’ve also used broken fettucine, it’s all about what the commissary has the day I shop. These are fine. I use about half a bag and it makes plenty. We had 3 adults tonight, the twins and the twinkies and there were leftovers.

I use these cheap soybeans. They’re great. The twinkies like to eat them as a snack or a side at lunch. I cook them in enough water to cover for 5-7 minutes in the microwave. Easy.

This is important, so listen. Once the edamame is cooked and the chicken and vegetable mixture has cooked through drain them in a colander. The bok choy holds a lot of water. A FREAKING LOT! If you don’t drain it your teriyaki sauce will drown. It’s really all about the sauce.

This is the best teriyaki sauce ever. If you can find it, use it. It’s a little spendy, but totally worth it. (If I can find it up here in stupid Alaska, you can probably find it wherever you are!)

Combine the noodles with the edamame, vegetable, and chicken mixture. Add in about 1/2 the bottle of sauce, or to taste. We like a LOT of teriyaki. It’s your choice.

These are the best frozen egg rolls I have ever eaten. I assume that one could actually make their own egg rolls, but it would probably cut into my wine drinking time. When you have a million children, making dinner is wine drinking time. The clock starts at 5 PM. If I had to make my own egg rolls I would have to start at 3 PM. That would mean I would be drunk by 5 and then no one would get to eat. So, buy some frozen egg rolls.

Word of warning: the package says these take about 10 minutes to cook. It is a bold faced lie. Plan on 17-20. Cut them in half to make sure they are cooked through.

Please to enjoy.

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

3 responses »

  1. soooo excited about this recipe! Quick and easy just my style.

    Reply
  2. Okay, now. THAT looks delicious. My family loves stir-fry and I LOVE Tom Colicchio (I mean Top Chef) and Antonia was one of my favorites.

    Sounds like a no-brainer.

    I’m not good at sticking to recipes so I will try to restrain myself because this one looks perfect as it is.

    Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

