RSS Feed

Tasty Tuesday

Posted on

Hold on to your hats kids, I’m getting fancy tonight. Since the twins are gone this week so I am testing new recipes. That way if they flop there are two fewer people to whine. Good plan right?

On the menu are shrimp and black bean empanadas and cilantro-lime and feta coleslaw. To start we need to make the slaw.

I adapted this recipe from the one found here at Une-Deux Senses.

Cilantro-Lime & Feta Coleslaw

1 Bag Coleslaw Mix

6 Tbs Olive Oil

3 Tbs Lime Juice

3 Tbs Mayonnaise

6 Green Onions, chopped

1 Cup Cilantro, chopped

16 oz. Crumbled Feta Cheese

Salt & Pepper

Whisk together the olive oil, mayo, and lime juice. Stir in remaining ingredients. Add salt & Pepper to taste. Chill.

Deliciousness.

Next up the Shrimp & Black Bean Empanadas.

I used the recipe found here at The Perfect Pantry.

The only change I made to this recipe was to quadruple it. It said it only made 2 empanadas, which is clearly not enough for us. I also used pie crust instead of discos. I couldn’t  find them. I went four, yes four, different grocery stores with the twinkies looking for them.

Then I got pissed off at the entire state of Alaska and bought the stupid pie crust instead.

Anywho.

These pictures always look gross. Maybe I should stop taking them? Nah.

I cut the pie crust into fourths and folded them over as directed in the recipe. Then I brushed them with an egg wash. It also said to put parchment paper on the pan, but I used Crisco instead.

I’m pretty impressed with myself.

They baked for about 15 minutes, until golden brown on top.

This was a nice light meal. That coleslaw is bomb diggidy. I could eat it every day. Seriously.  The empanadas were good, Dallas thought the pie crust was a little heavy. I enjoyed them, but I could not taste the shrimp. Next time I’ll just leave them out.

Enjoy!

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

11 responses »

  1. Miss B-
    Looks delicious! I’ll have to try that cole slaw!

    Reply
  2. My little one is on the picky side and takes his good time to get used to something but I’m getting hungry again when I’looking at your recepie. I love coleslaw (anykind) and the empanadas look very tasty. I just need to try this (we don’t even have premade pie-crust here end def. no discos), so I have to try it from scratch).

    Reply
  3. It is lunch time, and this is making my mouth water. I love feta and drool over anything cilantro-lime-y.

    Reply
  4. Sorry abut the mistakes, the light is off here at the moment, I cannot see the keys on the keyboard and I accidentally hit the return? key so the comment posted itself.

    Reply
  5. No worries:) I found a recipe for empanada dough, but I was way to lazy to make it! Thanks for stopping by:)

    Liz & Jen, that coleslaw is a-mazing & I agree cilantro & lime are always perfect!

    Reply
  6. Yum!!! I will so have to try this!!! Empanadas are seriously like my side of heaven!

    Reply
  7. Booyah's Momma

    Gah! This is why I don’t like to read blogs late at night. It’s 10:30. My stomach is growling. I’m literally licking the computer screen over here.

    I just printed this out… I am SO making this entire meal next week! Looks delicious.

    Reply
  8. For lunch today, I made empanadas. This post got me craving so I had to try to make them myself. I, of course, had to improvise with what I had in my pantry. I did black beans, onions, diced chicken (left overs), comino, garlic (lil bit), cilantro, lime and sweet potatoes diced. Holy schmoleys! ya got to try it. I used premade pie crust and I made your coleslaw salad. Sweet heaven- it was devine. Thanks for the recipe. Keep em coming. 🙂 Ang

    Reply
  9. no. you can dice them and throw them with the beans for 20 minutes and they get soft.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

