RSS Feed

A Better Day

Posted on

Wow, you all were sure in a mood yesterday. I hope attitudes have improved since then.

Ok, you got me-I was in a bad mood. I’m allowed. Between all these stinking kids, that stupid dog, and my annoying husband it’s lucky that I am not in a bad mood all the time.

My children would probably say that is actually the case. But, I ignore them most of the time, you can too.

I think I scared Taryn yesterday when I was a little too honest with my thoughts on one of her teachers. I may have said something like, “Great, tell her congratulations for getting a degree in memorizing crap.” Not very grown up of me, I know. Even she said, “Wow, mom you are really grumpy aren’t you?”

To add insult to injury Dallas has been away the last two nights. Not that I should complain about him being gone because, you know, at least he is in the state. But he had to work until about 3 AM on Tuesday and then overnight last night. Blech.

It would not have been so bad if he was not so annoying. I texted and asked him if he wanted me to bring him the iPad and dinner. He said no thanks. So, I went about my business. Dinner, chores, baths. Then I left the twinkies with John and took Taryn out to get some dress shoes.

While I was there Dal texted and asked if I could bring him the iPad, headphones, and “some snacks for tonight and tomorrow morning.”

Whiskey. Tango. Foxtrot.

Seriously, I  had just asked him that an hour earlier. Now I was super annoyed. I had to buy the shoes, go all the way home, make him snacks, and then take them to him. So stupid.

When I made his snacks I gave him the last of the cookies that were in the freezer. That meant I had to make more so Taryn would have them to pack in her lunch today.

I realize that I could have a) not packed him cookies or b) bought cookies on the way home. But, you know when you are just so flustered that you decide to just “do X because no one ever helps me anyway!” That was my attitude last night.

So yesterday was not the best day ever.

Today, however, was way up on the list.

A few girlfriends and I have decided to start walking together once a week. We are calling it “The ARC” or The Arse Reduction Club. Today was our maiden voyage. We did pretty well pounding out 4 miles with…wait for it…SIX kids in strollers.

The only kids that walked some of it were mine. Jackson acted like a maniac. He stalled. He cried. He got angry over wearing gloves instead of mittens. At one point Reese was running in the middle of the street and a car had to stop so I could grab him. OF COURSE, it couldn’t be a stranger. Nope, someone I know who will probably tease me about it FOREVER. Shortly after that he got mad when he could not have more goldfish (He had eaten them all-stupid.) so he pouted in the stroller for most of the walk. Fine by me.

Of course, after that long walk we needed to earn back some calories so we went for Hawaiian food. Excellent. Nothing like cancelling out your exercise almost immediately.

This is our crew. You can’t see the two babies in carseats on the floor. Or me, the photographer. Between the twinkies. I’m pretty sure when we walked in everyone in the restaurant thought, “I hope they don’t sit by me!” I don’t blame them, I was hoping I wouldn’t have to sit next to all those kids either.

There is probably nothing better than the company of friends to cheer a gal up. Thanks ladies, I needed today.

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

7 responses »

  1. mmmmmmmmmmm hawaiian food! Excellent! Glad you had a better day!

    Reply
  2. I had a blast! Looking forward to next week!

    Reply
  3. I feel the same way about hanging with the girls! We often joke about places we have taken the kids and maybe they have a warning label about us the next time!! Glad you day got better 🙂

    Reply
  4. Y’all do make life more difficult on yourselves. I mean the whole cookie thing….are you looking for immediate Beatification? Just sayin

    Reply
  5. Pingback: What I Want « Twinisms

  6. Pingback: What I Want | Twinisms What I Want | Toasting Twins since 1996.

Leave a Reply

