RSS Feed

Tasty Tuesday

Posted on

So we’re going with Tasty Tuesday then? Sounds great.

Tonight we did a pretty traditional meal of meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and green beans. A little comfort food for my hungry mob. Of course, I don’t make anything exactly as the recipe says, so here are the meatloaf ingredients.

Pretty standard, except for the parmesan cheese. I love it. I add it to everything. Go ahead, put a half a cup or so in your meatloaf, you won’t regret it. I use breadcrumbs not crackers. Cracker meatloaf is icky.

You’ll also need this.

That’s right we are making moose meatloaf! So, come to Alaska. Get a hunting license. Shoot one. And continue with the rest of the recipe.

You could use hamburger. But that’s kind of wussing out if you asked me.

Incidentally, this moose (not the one in the picture, the one in the bowl) was shot by one of the 14-year-old girls who came to stay with us for the exchange program. That’s how we roll up here.

I’m going to let you in on a little secret: I make the best mashed potatoes in the world. The trick is skipping the milk. That’s right, put the jug away and use sour cream instead. None of that fat free crap either. Also, ick.

Just have some red wine with dinner to cancel out the cholesterol.

That’s about 6 potatoes, 16 oz. of sour cream, a stick of butter, and salt and pepper. Worth. Every. Calorie.

The green beans were from a can, cooked with a little lemon and Goya brand Adobo. I made brown gravy from a packet. I can’t make gravy. I’ve tried and it is always a gloppy mess.

Everyone was happy tonight. Anyone who has kids knows that making all of them happy is nearly impossible. Yay, me! I rock.

I realize John is not smiling in the picture. But his plate is clean, so I’m taking the win.

 

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

2 responses »

  1. Moose meatloaf..wow…Sounds good! I would say Im going to try that but the only moose I have here is hair mousse! I will try the parm cheese in there though, sounds tasty!!

    Reply
  2. Hahaha! Hair mousse, somehow I don’t think that would taste so great. Enjoy! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

