RSS Feed

Sunday Amusements

Posted on

This weekend flew by in a bit of a blur. Dallas had to go to work for a few hours each day which makes the days feel longer but the weekend seem short. Today he had to rush off from church to his office, leaving me to do our Sunday thing with the kiddos by myself.

I gathered the twinkies in the minivan and motored home to pick up the twins. This morning they went to a Baptist church with their Religious Exploration class. They did not have much to say about that, other then it freaked them out a little to see a man in a suit get into a pool of water to do a baptism.

We went to lunch, just the 5 of us. When I am out with the twins, I wonder if people think that they are boyfriend/girlfriend. Usually they sit on the same side of the table. A very young couple-ish thing to do. As much as they bicker with each other, sitting next to their old mom is beyond uncool.

Anyway, I think people think I’m the mom to one and the other is the love interest. It’s kind of gross to think about, mostly because I know that in the not-so-distant future I will be out with them and their significant other.

Hold that thought while I shoot some vodka.

Ok, I’m better now.

Anyway, John and I have had an ongoing conversation about the rap drama in the late 1990’s. Weird, I know. It started on Tuesday as I was driving the boys to soccer practice. One of them, Amer, sat in the back talking about Tupac and The Notorious B.I.G. Except, he kept saying The Notorious Big. He said it a few times and I let it slide. But, I could not help myself.

“Amer, it’s Notorious B.I.G.”

“What Mrs. Rainey?”

“It’s The Notorious B.I.G., not big, B period, I period, G period.”

“Oh…well, ok thanks.”

My attempt to enlighten 14-year-old boys and sound a little bit hip failed miserably.

It reminded me of junior high.

Anyway, today at lunch with my kids-who-look-like-a-couple, and the twinkies “I’m Coming Out” by Puff Daddy with The Notorious B.I.G. came on and the conversation started again. This time I also had to explain it to Taryn. She was lost.

“What is his name mom?”

“Notorious B.I.G. not big”

“BIG”

“No, B.I.G.”

“B.I.G.G.?”

“No, just one G”

“Wait … so he was a rapper?

“Yes, and he was friends with Puff Daddy”

“Who?

“Puff Daddy, or P. Diddy, or Dirty Diddy something, or Sean Combs, whatever you guys are calling him?”

“Oh, like an old school rapper?”

This is where John jumped in, “Yeah, Amer says that Tupac is an old school rapper”

“Wait, Tupac and B.I.G. aren’t the same person?”

Oh, for crying out loud….

I tried to change the subject by asking what else they wanted to talk about. John informed me that he wants to go to UCLA for college. I told him he should probably figure out what he wants to study and then decide on a school.

John said, “I want to study feet! Hahaha!”

He is hilarious.

Then Taryn (who really is a smart girl) said, “Feet? You mean you want to be a pediatrician?”

Time for another shot.

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

7 responses »

  1. Oh Wow .. A day in the life of twins! Wanna hire a babysitter (there has to be an insanely stupid sitter out there) and go for shots?! ..

    Reply
  2. Awesome! Tennessee or the Tundra?! Moose or Hillbillies?! EeeeeK

    Reply
  3. I swear I was cool at one time, but looking back and thinking I have to explain somethings in the future doesnt sound fun!

    Reply
  4. the older I get, the cooler I was

    Reply
  5. This post is the exact reason why these rappers need to keep the names they started with. Like Lil Bow Wow is just Bow Wow. When a career spans a generation, it’s no good for anyone.

    Reply
  6. I was never cool. 😉 I will have to lie to my kids.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

