RSS Feed

Not A Kid Anymore

Posted on

There are times that life really slaps you in the face with reality. My reality is that I am not a kid anymore. Despite having four children (two that are taller than me) and loads of responsibility I still fancy myself “young.” I don’t feel that old most of the time. I try not to think about whether I actually look my age. I’m 36. That’s not old right?

Right?

Nevermind.

I feel old when I attempt to do things that I used to do when I was in college. I don’t mean running marathons or driving cross-country. I never did any of that. I mean drinking large amounts of alcohol and staying out late. That’s when I notice how different my life is now compared to how it was in my 20’s.

Parenthood Vs. College

Timeline – In college the night started at around 10 PM and ended in the wee hours of the morning. Now, the night out starts at 7, includes dinner and is over long before midnight.

Recovery – No matter how much I consume or how late I stay out I still have to roll out of bed early in the morning and act like an adult. This morning the twinkies let me sleep until 8 AM. I needed about 8 more hours. Then we went to church. Sitting in church looking for the closest exit in case you have to puke is not cool.

Beverages – In college is was all about white russians and rum and coke. Shots were fun, I actually liked tequila back then. Blech. Now it is about beer and wine. Shots are just asking for trouble.

Memory Capacity – Not being able to remember stuff from drunken nights in college is not a big deal. Apparently on my 21st birthday I ran down the street yelling “I’m 21!!” (Luckily, I have friends who never let me forget that one.) Dallas says that I yelled at him last night for leaving the blinds open when he went to bed. While this is completely in keeping with my personality I have no memory of it. I don’t like having to apologize. Especially for something I am not sure happened.

Rallying – In college I would sleep all day after a night of drinking. Wake up, eat, start over. The last time I did this to myself was in 2009. I think I’m going to have to wait another 2 years before I do it again.

Also, and this is really just a side note, knowing every word to “Ice, Ice, Baby” is not a skill that should be shared with people my age. It’s not as impressive as I think it is.

Word to your mother

 

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

5 responses »

  1. I’ve been feeling the same way lately! People always ask why do you go out and have a few drinks, and I say, Um, hangovers are not cool with a toddler, they are the exact thing I would avoid had I been drinking!!!

    Reply
  2. Amen, sista! Thanks for letting me know I’m not the only one this happens to. 🙂

    Reply
  3. I can’t drink with my kids around. They are such buzz killers. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Hahaha! You guys are too funny:)

    Reply
  5. Great post. I know just what you mean. I also have 4 kids, two of whom are 18 and 16 (the other two are 8 and 6) and I’ll be turning 40! in July. I’m not sure how that is possible since I only feel 27….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

