RSS Feed

Moments To Cherish?

Posted on

Today I thought a lot about the little moments that we remember forever. It started last night while writing about John sleeping outside Taryn’s bedroom door. I asked some of the fans of my Facebook page what their favorite and least favorite kid memories are and got some great answers. I am a fan of any story that involves a parent winding up covered in vomit and/or poop. As long as the story is not about me. You can read those posts and post your own by clicking over to my Facebook page Twinisms.

Since you all shared your favorite/least favorite moments with me, I figured I should share some with you. I am sure that at the time these things happened I thought they were the embarrassing/unforgivable/disgusting, but in hindsight they’re pretty funny.

Twin A, Taryn

Taryn was a spunky little kid. Her Grandpa nicknamed her SassyBean, because she was…well, sassy. One night when she was about 5-years-old I was having coffee with my dad after dinner. At some point Taryn decided that she was ready to take a bath. She asked several times if she could take a bath. I, being the excellent mother that I am, ignored these requests. Pretty soon she appeared in the dining room, in her birthday suit and said, “Mom, HELLOOO I want to take a bath!”

She has maintained this attitude throughout her life.

Twin B, John

John is a colorful kid and I could probably fill an entire blog up with just stories of his ridiculousness. However, the story that was the most embarrassing when it happened, but the most fun to tell now is this one. As you probably know, I was a single mom for 5 years. Then we met Dallas and the rest is history (awww…). Anyway, Dallas and I had dated for a while when we took the twins to North Carolina to visit his grandparents and great-grandparents. They are the best people in the world. They are also Southern Baptists. I was raised Catholic. As Catholics know, before meals we say a traditional prayer, “bless us o Lord…” That was the only mealtime prayer that the twins had ever heard. Our first night there we sat down to dinner and clasped hands (also foreign to the twins) and Dal’s grandpa said a blessing. I don’t remember exactly what he said but it was long, contained lots of ‘we just pray’s’, and thanked the Lord for each of us by name. As soon as we said Amen John (in the loudest voice humanly possible) said, “That’s the worstest prayer I ever heard!”

I almost died right there at the table. Seriously, who raised that kid?

The Twinkies

I’m not sure the twinkies best moments have happened yet, but there are already a lot to choose from. Most of them involve poop. Jackson (Twinkie B) once pooped on Taryn’s dresser. Reesen (Twinkie A) pooped in his pants and the indoor playground. Then took them half way off…on the playground. Grossness.

What’s your “cherished?” kid moment?

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

Leave a Reply

