RSS Feed

Game Night

Posted on

Today was designated family night with the rural exchange kids. Our instructions were to do what we normally do in the evening so they could see what life is like in our home. If you saw my previous post you probably know that we don’t do a lot in the evenings. We eat. We do chores. We watch TV and play on the computer. We try not to annoy each other.

I don’t know who the families are that play board games together. We used to have a huge stack of them collecting dust in the closet. Before we left Savannah (our previous duty station) we got rid of them. We never played. Playing with kids is quite possibly the most unpleasant thing in the world.

They fight. They cheat. They cry when they lose. It is unbearable.

Now that the twinkies are getting older we bought them a few games. Candyland, Chutes & Ladders, Operation. You know the drill. Same situation. If they are not winning they freak out. Miserable. They ask all the time if they can play. Once in a while I drag the games out to see if their attitude has improved. So far no change.

I have this fantasy of them sitting quietly in their bedroom playing monopoly for hours. I’m sure I did this when I was a kid. I must have. What’s wrong with these kids?

I also hate arts and crafts.

My kids ask to color sometimes. When I have the energy to deal with it I get the crayons down. Usually, they fight over the crayons and the coloring books. Whiskey. Tango. Foxtrot. A red crayon is a red crayon! What difference does it make who has what? This process is also unbearable.

I have tried to do some real crafts. All of them were an abysmal failure. Ugh, I hate crafts. The only thing I hate more than crafts is being told by crafty people how it’s so easy. It’s not, stop it and leave me alone.

So, since I can’t do some sort of Martha Stewart family night we went to the mall. Then I took them for greasy pizza.

Have you ever gone out in public with four 14-year-olds? Wow. Just, wow. I think I would rather deal with the 4-year-olds. At least they are a little afraid of me.

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

One response »

  1. Dibs on the thimble!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

