RSS Feed

Twinsplanation

Posted on

Yes, I made that word up. I made 4 babies, I can make up words if I want.

I play a little game with my kids where I say, “who is the smartest boy in the whole town?” They say, “me!” I say, “Who is the most handsome?” They say, “me!” Then I say “who loves you?” They say, “You, Daddy, Sissy, John!” Fun times.

This morning when I did it Jackson said, “Some kids only have a mommy.”

I figured that was a good opportunity for a little left-leaning life lesson so I said, “Yes, that’s true and some kids have 2 mommies and some have 2 daddies.”

Jackson said, “like *Seth.”

“No, Seth has a mommy and a daddy and their Aunt Suzy lives with them. Suzy is Seth’s mommy’s sister. You know like Aunt Nicky is my sister and Aunt Autumn and Aunt Celeste are Daddy’s sisters? His mommy and daddy are both soldiers so sometimes they have to be away from home so his Aunt Suzy lives with them to help take care of him and his little sister.”

I waited to see if he understood what I was saying. I figure we have three options.

A. His little 4-year-old self completely understood my explanation.

B. He thinks his friends’ mom’s are lesbians. (which is fine, but not true)

C. He thinks his friends’ parents are polygamists. ( I watch too much Big Love)

Jackson thought for a minute and said, “yeah and some kids have 3 mommies and 3 daddies….”

I didn’t see that one coming.

*Names have been changed to retain friends.

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

2 responses »

  1. Love the indoctrination 😉 Barack would be so proud LOL. As for Big Love…we’ve settled into depression as of last night. Can’t believe its gone. Have you seen sister wives? Its a reality version.

    Reply
  2. I got a little weepy thinking about the Hendrickson’s today. I’ll miss them too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

