RSS Feed

The Waiting Is The Hardest Part

Posted on

Well, maybe waiting isn’t the hardest part of parenting, but it’s up there. I think that I spend at least half of my time in waiting rooms. The upside to this is that I almost never have to buy People magazine. The downside is that it makes me want to stab a pencil in my eye.

Including myself and the 4 children I go to the dentist 10 times a year. That’s just for cleanings. Frick.

Now that the twins have braces I spend even more time waiting. Going to the dentist is a huge chore. First we have to go to the orthodontist to have the wires in the braces removed. Then to the dentist for the cleaning. Then back to the orthodontist to have the wire put back in.

If you’re considering braces for your kids you might want to think about the time commitment. It’s not so hard to convince yourself that crooked teeth add character.

I had today’s appointments for the twins all squared away because their ortho adjustment and their cleaning fell in the same week. So it was just going to be one long afternoon, but it would all be done.

No dice.

The dentist had to reschedule. Of course, they could only get us in on the day when the orthodontist was out. Twin luck.

Athletics is another time suck. Tonight I have to wait at the soccer dome for a couple of hours. Don’t let the indoor soccer thing fool you, it is barely above freezing in that place. I bet I’ve spent 1000 hours waiting for practices to end. Most often in weather so cold my teeth are chattering, rain so heavy I cannot see, or heat so stifling that I cannot breathe.

Here’s the deal coaches, set your watch for 10 minutes before practice ends. When the timer goes off start cleaning up/pep talking. Seriously, one day I’m going to drive my mini van right on to the field just to prove a point.

When the twins were younger I kept a book in the car. Now that I’m old and lazy I just play on my phone. Tetris. I’m old school like that.

How much time do you spend waiting on your kids?

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

Leave a Reply

