RSS Feed

Husbands, Shopping, And Shoes

Posted on

I’m excited! Can you tell? I’m talking really fast!

I’m leaving tonight to head down to Georgia to retrieve my husband! Whoo hoo! Of course, the flight from AK to GA is very unpleasant, as is the fact that I will be on a long flight back to AK on Saturday. But this time, HE will be with me! Hooah!

We spent today driving my mother-in-law around town so she would be able to get the kids from point A to points B, C, and D over the next couple of days. She’s from Texas and is pretty fearless when it comes to driving in new cities. Good for her. Better for me.

Her job (and mine) would be much easier if it did not always include dragging the twinkies around. Seriously. I think every store, restaurant, or other retail outlet should have a drive thru window. My dream is a drive thru post office. With a Starbucks right next door.

We went to Fred Meyer, which is like a super Wal-Mart, only better.

“where are we going?”

“what are we getting?”

“how long will we be there?”

“when will we be back home?”

“can I have a snack when we get home?”

“can I play the Wii when we get home?”

So annoying.

In the store my little klepto, Jackson, kept picking things up. First he had a hanger, just a hanger-no idea where the shirt that was on it went. Then some socks. Then sunglasses. Then a box of art supplies. Then he gave up and did a sit-down-strike in the middle of the store. Why, why, why can’t we just walk in and walk out? (reason #765 why I am single-handedly keeping wine makers in business)

Next stop, we went to the base to get grandma a pass and show her to the indoor playground. (Yes, there is an upside to living in the tundra, indoor playgrounds are the cats meow) Guess what happened then?

“where are we going?”

“what are we getting?”

“how long will we be there?”

“when will we be back home?”

“can I have a snack when we get home?”

“can I play the Wii when we get home?”

The kicking on the back of my seat had also started. Frick on a stick.

My mother-in-law noticed that the twinkies were not wearing the shoes she bought during her last visit. So I had to explain to her that we lost one. Do you ever see a random shoe on the sidewalk or at the park and wonder, how do you lose a shoe? I know the answer.

Kids are irresponsible.

We lost ours at a little fire & ice festival on New Year’s Eve. When we walked to the car, I carried Jackson & Taryn carried Reese. As is often the case, I had two extra teenagers that night. We got all the way home when I realized that Reese was only wearing one shoe.

I said, “Reese why did you take your shoe off?”

He said, “I lost it … in the parking lot.”

This is when I started banging my head on the steering wheel.

 

 

 

About Twinisms

I am the mother of two sets of twins that are ten years apart. Each of them has moments where they say and do hilarious, frustrating, and crazy things.I counter that by also doing borderline crazy things. It's a good time.

2 responses »

  1. Bridget,

    I ❤ this! You are brill! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

